About Saint Petersburg Scientific Center

The year 1999 was marked by a wide celebration of the 275th anniversary of the foundation of the Russian Academy of Sciences. February 8, the day when Emperor Peter the Great issued the edict "On the Academy of Sciences and Its Maintenance Costs", was declared the Day of Russian Science. Three hundred-year history of St. Petersburg and the history of the Russian science are most closely interrelated. In 1720s the new Russian capital witnessed the appearance of a professional scientific institution closely connected with the state and included into the world science. The Academy of Sciences was situated in our city until 1934. Half a century later Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) Scientific Center was formed. It is by right considered to be the historical core of the Russian Academy of Sciences.
 
The first chairman of the Presidium of Leningrad Scientific Center (1983-1989) was Academician I. A. Glebov. Since 1989 the Presidium has been headed by Academician Zh. I. Alferov. The main task of the Center, since the day of its foundation, has been rendering assistance in fundamental research development in the area of natural, engineering, social sciences and the humanities, including research aimed at solving social and economic regional problems. The Center contributes to the development of the scientific and technological potential of the academic institutions in St. Petersburg and organizes their cooperation in carrying out interdisciplinary researches. The Center's activities also include questions of scientific workers' training as well as the development of international scientific contacts. The coordination of the major fundamental and applied researches is accomplished by the Interdisciplinary Coordinating Scientific Council. The Council incorporates seven amalgamated committees on the problems of: physical and mathematical sciences; power engineering; mechanics, strength and science of materials; information science, management and communication; the humanities, historical and cultural heritage; complex problem of "Ecology and Natural Resources"; biology and medicine.
 
Long and successful experience of the Interdisciplinary Coordinating Scientific Council and its amalgamated committees proved that it is one of the most efficient forms of coordinating scientific research within the region.
 
St. Petersburg Scientific Center incorporates institutions of different age. Three of them are older than the Academy of Sciences itself. They are Kunstkamera (Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography), the Library of the Academy of Sciences and the Botanical Institute (known as the Pharmaceutical Garden in XYIII century), all of them founded in 1714. Before the foundation of the Academy of Sciences these institutions were under the Pharmaceutical Chancellery. The history of the Institute of Linguistic Studies dates back to 1783, the year of the establishment of the Russian Academy, later on included into the Academy of Sciences as its Second Department. Next group of institutes, according to their age, is the "heir" to the "museum epoch" of 1820s. In 1818 young S. S. Uvarov, who had not betrayed the liberal tendencies of Alexander's epoch yet, nor had become infamous as a persecutor of Pushkin and creator of the notorious "theory of official populism", was appointed the President of the Academy and set up the Asian Museum. At the same time the following museums were founded: Botanical - under the direction of Academician K. A. Trinius; Mineralogical - under the direction of Academician V. M. Severgin; and Zoological, with Academician F. F. Brandt at its head. St. Petersburg branch of the Institute of Oriental Studies, the Botanical and Zoological Institutes come from that "museum epoch". The Institute for the History of Material Culture is the successor to the Archeology Commission (1859). This epoch was superseded by the "observatories era" which presented the RAS with the Main (Pulkovo) Astronomical Observatory (1839), for many long years being known as the "world astronomical capital". The 19th century witnessed the emergence of a number of scientific societies. In 1817 there was established the Mineralogical Society; in 1845 - Russian Geographical Society. Today there are 10 scientific societies under RAS in St. Petersburg.
 
 In 1864, on the initiative of academician F. V. Ovsiannikov, the Physiology Laboratory originated which later grew into the present I. P. Pavlov Institute of Physiology (1925). The centenary of Pushkin's birth gave an impulse to the creation of Pushkinsky Dom (Pushkin House) - the Institute of Russian Literature (1905.
 
In 1915 the Academy of Sciences organized the Commission for Studies of Natural Productive Forces of Russia (CNPF), the suggestion about its foundation having been put forward by academicians V. I. Vernadsky and A. S. Famintsyn. On October 11, 1915 V. I. Vernadsky was elected its chairman and academicians B. B. Golitsyn and N. S. Kurnakov became vice-chairmen. CNPF carried out extensive studies of natural resources of Russia. It played an important role in creation of new scientific institutions. The CNPF's plans were realized not earlier than in the years of the revolution. In 1918 there appeared the Optical Institute, Rentgenological and Radiological Institute; in 1919 - Computational Institute, in 1920 - Astronomic and Geodesic Institute; and in 1921 - Mathematical Institute (since 1926 named after V. A. Steklov). These institutes developed into the present Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute of RAS, Vavilov State Optical Institute, closely connected with the Academy of Sciences throughout its history, and the Institute of Theoretical Astronomy under the RAS, which joined the Institute of Applied Astronomy in 1998.
 
In 1934, upon moving of the Academy of Sciences to Moscow, Leningrad went on developing as the country's second biggest Center of the Academic Science. By late 1940-early 1941 the total number of Leningrad academic institutions reached 33, among them there being three institutes, three branches of Moscow institutes, one observatory, three independent laboratories, three commissions, one committee, two museums, one scientific society and two society branches. The Archives and the Library of the USSR Academy of Sciences were also situated in Leningrad. The system of the city's academic institutions included Astronomical, Physical and Technical, Radium, Zoological, Ethnographical Institutes; Institutes of Chemical Physics, Russian Literature; Komarov Botanical Institute and I. P. Pavlov Institute of Physiology; N. Ja. Marr Institute for the History of Material Culture, N. Ja. Marr Language and Thinking Institute; and Pulkovo Observatory. Leningrad academic science was represented by the Branch of V. A. Steklov Mathematical Institute and the Branch of the Institute of History (since 2000 - St. Petersburg Institute of History). By early 1941, 39 academicians and 60 corresponding members of the Academy worked in Leningrad. According to the Vice-president of the USSR Academy of Sciences, Academician O. Yu. Shmidt (June 1940), "over one third of the total number of academicians and corresponding members of the USSR Academy of Sciences live and work permanently in Leningrad".
 
In the post-war period the academic science in Leningrad did not develop as intensively as in Moscow and Siberia. Leningrad share in the USSR AS gradually became stabilized at 10 per cent with regard to the number of both Academy members and scientific workers.
 
In the first five post-war years there appeared I. V. Grebenshchikov Institute of Silicate Chemistry and the Institute of Macromolecular Compounds. The results of the post-war destruction of the national biology were partly eliminated during the period of "thaw". In September 1956 the Presidium of the Academy of Sciences decreed that the group of scientists working under the direction of Academician L. A. Orbeli should be reorganized into the Laboratory of Evolutionary Physiology. In March 1956 the Laboratory was transformed into I. M. Sechenov Institute of Evolutionary Physiology and Biochemistry. In 1957 the Institute of Cytology with D. N. Nasonov at its head was established.
 
It was not until late 1960s-early 1970s that the structure of Leningrad academic science reflected the vicinity of the city to water basins. In 1967 the Branch of P. P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology was formed here and in 1971 the Limnology Laboratory (1944) was transformed into the Institute of Limnology.
 
In 1970s a number of new institutes evolved from Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, this process having started as far back as late 1920s. B. P. Konstantinov Leningrad (now Petersburg) Nuclear Physics Institute originated in 1971 and in 1978 there appeared the Institute for Informatics and Automation.
 
Scientific instrument-making industry maintains a three-century old tradition traced back to Peter the Great. In 1718 the Emperor assigned E. S. Loubotier, a Parisian toolmaker, to the Pharmaceutical Chancellery staff. In the post-war years V. A. Pavlenko, a corresponding member of the USSR AS, resumed this tradition having created Leningrad Special Design Office (SDO) for analytical instrument making. It developed intensively and in 1970s became the country's biggest center of scientific instrument making. In 1977 the Scientific and Technical Association (STA) within the USSR AS was set up. It included SDO for analytical instrument making in Leningrad and Moscow, the Institute for Analytical Instrumentation (IAI) and plants in Chernogolovka and Minsk.
 
A number of research institutes appeared in the last pre-crisis years: Euler International Mathematical Institute (1988, now a part of St. Petersburg Department of V. A. Steklov Mathematical Institute), the Institute of Applied Astronomy (1988), the Branch of A. A. Blagonravov Institute of Mechanical Engineering (1985, since 1991 the Institute of Mechanical Engineering Problems), the Transportation Problems Institute (1990), the Institute of the Human Brain (1990), the Department of N. N. Semenov Institute of Chemical Physics (1990), Center for International Environmental Cooperation (Center INENCO, 1990, since 2002 - Research Center for Interdisciplinary Environmental Cooperation), the Geodynamics Laboratory of O. Ju. Shmidt Institute of the Earth Physics (1991), the Scientific Research Center for Ecological Safety (RCES, 1991). In 1989-90 the Branch of the Institute of Sociology and the Institute for Economics and Mathematics at St. Petersburg evolved from the Institute of Social and Economic Problems founded in 1975.
 
In 1992 the Institute of Problems of Electrophysics and the Division for Basic Researches in Electric Power Engineering were established on the basis of the Institute of Electromechanics. In 1994 St. Petersburg Branch of the Institute for Human Studies and the Complex Laboratory of Hydrogeology and Environment-Safe Mining Technologies (since 1996 St. Petersburg Division of the Institute of Environmental Geology) were incorporated into the system of St. Petersburg research institutions.
 
St. Petersburg Department of G. K. Boreskov Institute of Catalysis (Novosibirsk) was the last to be established (1998), with S. S. Ivanchev, a Corresponding Member of the RAS, being its organizer.
 
Currently, St. Petersburg Research Center of the RAS incorporates over 70 institutions, organizations and enterprises within the RAS situated in St. Petersburg and Leningrad region, with the personnel numbering 13200. Among 44 scientific institutions under SPbRC, 33 are self-dependent research institutes and organizations, 9 are branches, departments or divisions of out-of-town institutes (mostly Moscow institutes) and two are educational chairs. A great pride of the Center is its two giants, the biggest Academic institutes in Russia - Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute and St. Petersburg B. P. Konstantinov Nuclear Physics Institute, each numbering 2200 research workers. 650 people work at the biggest humanitarian institution, the Library of the RAS,  and 660 - in the largest biological institute, I. P. Pavlov Institute of Physiology. On average, the institute's staff varies from 100 to 600 employees. There are also tiny organizations. They are St. Petersburg departments of Moscow institutes where the number of workers hardly ever exceeds 10. In total, 38 Academicians, 69 Corresponding Members of the RAS, 1136 Doctors of Science and 2965 Candidates of Science (Ph. D.) work in St. Petersburg institutions of the Russian Academy of Sciences.
 
Institutes of all specialized branches of the RAS operate within St. Petersburg Research Center and three more only belong to the Center. These are the Institute for Analytical Instrumentation, RCES and Center INENCO.
 
Since the day of the Academy foundation the civilization image and people's ideas of the world have changed radically. A highly important contribution to the scientific picture of the universe was made by outstanding scientists who lived and worked in St. Petersburg-Petrograd-Leningrad. "Petersburg fragments" of the scientific picture of the universe were included in schoolbooks and encyclopedias. Among them we can mention the periodical system of elements (Mendeleev), concept of conditional reflexes (Sechenov and Pavlov), phagocyte immunity (Mechnikov), expanding universe (Fridman), Popov's radio, innumerable formulae and equations (Euler), chain reactions (Semenov), the law of homologous series (Vavilov), asymptotic law of prime numbers distribution (Chebyshev), linear programming (Kantorovich), Venus atmosphere (Lomonosov), Nartov's support, Frenkel's and Gross's exciton, Zvorykin's television transmitter, electric motor and galvanoplasty (Yacobi), semiconductive features of A3 B5 compounds (Goriunova and Regel), rotational and isomeric model of polymer chain (Volkenstein), acoustic method of blood pressure measurement (Korotkov) as well as a great many discovered phenomena and effects, celestial bodies and chemical reactions, new substances, technologies and industries, deciphered written languages and documents put into scientific use, books written and read.
 
The three-century history of St. Petersburg fundamental science leaves a special imprint on the present-day research activity and creates a particular - Petersburgian - spirit of the scientific community. Thus, one of the priorities of St. Petersburg humanitarian scientific schools formed around unique museum collections has become the work on documents and primary sources and lesser role is assigned to hystoriosophical and ideologically loaded concepts. It is typical of St. Petersburg scientific schools belonging to the physical and mathematical cycle (mathematics, astronomy, physics and mechanics) to cover a subject in a comprehensive and versatile way. Most St. Petersburg scientific schools orientate to extraordinary high professional and ethic standards set by their founders. Despite modern acceleration and development of scientific communication resulting in a rapid change of research methods and objects, many St. Petersburg scientists find it essential to belong to such classic scientific schools as Chebyshev-Lyapunov-Steklov Mathematical School (St. Petersburg), "Ioffe Kindergarten", St. Petersburg Chemical School, St. Petersburg School of Oriental Studies, and St. Petersburg textological School.
 
Although these scientific schools went through severe political, social and economic ordeals, they keep their vivacious and creative activity. During the last decades only, including crisis years of 1990s, there were achieved such brilliant scientific results as solution of 10, 21 and 22 Hilbert problems; discovery of quantum groups, creation of quantum-size heterostructures and zero-dimensional points (artificial atoms), in particular, in semiconductors; trustworthy evidence of relic background fluctuations; development of plasma technology for toxic substances refinement; start-up of the tokamak "Globe" and interference radiotelescope; creation of new medicines and haemosubstitutes; development of radiation immune materials, ceramic and organic-silicate coatings; discovery of oil deposits in the Arctic shelf; development of vibration mechanics; prediction of "greenhouse" effect; development of the model "Lake Ladoga-the Neva-the Finland Gulf"; prion model of "cow hydrophobia"; "kohau-rongo-rongo" deciphering; discovery of ancient civilizations in Central Asia and excavations in Staraya (Old) Ladoga; "return" of Byzantine humanism and risorial culture of Russian Middle Ages to the history of culture; edition of the encyclopedia on "Slovo o Polku Igoreve" and facsimile reproduction of Pushkin's workbooks.
 
Once Henri Poincare expressed an idea that the science has no solved problems. It only has more or less solved problems. The idea of this great mathematician can be fully applied to the problems of science and education organization and management. Being solved at a certain stage, these scientific and organization problems may arise at the following turn of the historical process. Nowadays the phenomenon of problem recovery can be seen in a gloomy light. Such questions as preservation of scientific schools, social status and physical survival of the Russian scientists are the order of the day.
 
St. Petersburg scientific community is deeply concerned about the problem of preserving Petersburg scientific traditions and the leading role of St. Petersburg in national and world science. В.Путин, Г.Шредер и Ж.Алферов St. Petersburg Scientific Center makes great efforts to solve the problem of succession of scientific generations. Academic institutes and universities solve it within the framework of the federal goal-oriented program "Integration" by setting up basic departments. Today it is the Educational Center at Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute that embodies Peter's triad "academy-university-gymnasium". The project of reviving the Academic University is coming true. Entering its fourth century, St. Petersburg must keep its status as a major center of fundamental science
 

.

О научном центре

В 1999 году было широко отмечено 275-летие со дня основания Российской академии наук. 8 февраля — день, когда был издан указ императора Петра Первого «О Академии наук и сумме на содержание оной», — было объявлено Днем российской науки. Трехсотлетняя история Санкт-Петербурга и история российской науки связаны самым теснейшим образом. В новой столице России в 20-х гг. XVIII века возникло профессиональное научное учреждение, тесно связанное с государством и включенное в мировую науку. Академия наук располагалась в нашем городе до 1934 г. Спустя полвека в Ленинграде был образован Ленинградский (ныне Санкт-Петербургский) научный центр (СПбНЦ РАН), по праву считающийся историческим ядром Российской академии наук.
 
Первым председателем Президиума Ленинградского научного центра (с 1983 по 1989 гг.) был академик И.А.Глебов. С 1989 г. Президиум Научного центра возглавляет академик
Ж.И.Алфёров.
 
Основной задачей Научного центра с момента его организации является содействие в развитии фундаментальных исследований в области естественных, технических, гуманитарных и общественных наук, в том числе исследований, направленных на решение социально-экономических проблем региона. Центр способствует развитию научно-технического потенциала академических учреждений Санкт-Петербурга, организует их взаимодействие в проведении междисциплинарных исследований. В сферу деятельности Центра также входят вопросы подготовки высококвалифицированных научных кадров и развитие международных научных связей.
 
Координацию важнейших фундаментальных и прикладных исследований осуществляет Междисциплинарный координационный научный совет (председатель — академик
Ж.И.Алферов). В его состав входят семь Объединенных научных советов:
  • Объединенный научный совет по физико-математическим наукам (председатель — академик Р.А.Сурис);
  • Объединенный научный совет по проблемам энергетики (председатель — академик
    М.Ф.Федоров);
  • Объединенный научный совет по проблемам механики, прочности и материаловедения (председатель — академик И.В.Горынин);
  • Объединенный научный совет по проблемам информатики, управления и телекоммуникаций (председатель — член-корр. РАН  Р.М.Юсупов);
  • Объединенный научный совет по комплексной проблеме "Экология и природные ресурсы" (председатель — академик С.Г.Инге-Вечтомов);
  • Объединенный научный совет "Биология и медицина" (председатель — академик Ю.В.Наточин);
  • Объединенный научный совет по общественным и гуманитарным наукам (председатель — академик В.В.Окрепилов).
 
Междисциплинарный координационный научный совет и его Объединенные научные советы, как доказала многолетняя практика их деятельности, — это эффективная форма координации научных исследований в рамках региона.
 
В состав СПбНЦ входят учреждения самого разного "возраста". Три из них старше самой Академии наук — это Кунсткамера (Музей антропологии и этнографии им. Петра Великого), Библиотека Академии наук и Ботанический институт (в XVIII веке — "Аптекарский огород"), основанные в 1714 году. Все эти учреждения находились до основания Академии наук в ведении аптекарской канцелярии и ее главы — архиатра. Институт лингвистических исследований отсчитывает свой век от 1783 года — основания Российской Академии, вошедшей позднее в Академию наук в качестве ее 2-го отделения. Следующая по возрасту группа институтов является наследницей "эпохи музеев" — 20-х гг. XIX века. В 1818 году молодой С. С. Уваров, еще не изменивший либеральным веяниям эпохи, не "прославившийся" преследованиями Пушкина и созданием пресловутой "теории официальной народности", становится Президентом АН и создает Азиатский музей. В эти же годы под руководством академика К. А. Триниуса был создан Ботанический музей, под руководством академика В. М. Севергина — Минералогический и во главе с академиком Ф. Ф. Брандтом — Зоологический. Институт восточных рукописей, Ботанический и Зоологический институты ведут свое начало из этой "эпохи музеев".  Сменившая ее "эра обсерваторий" оставила в составе Академии Главную (Пулковскую) астрономическую обсерваторию (1839 г.), долгие годы носившую славный титул "астрономической столицы мира". На протяжении всего XIX в. создавались научные общества. В 1817 г. учреждается Минералогическое общество, в 1845 г. — Русское географическое общество. Институт истории материальной культуры — наследник Археографической комиссии (1859 г.). В настоящее время в Петербурге работает 16 научных обществ и комитетов.
 
В 1864 г. в Академии наук по предложению академика Ф.В.Овсянникова была основана Физиологическая лаборатория, из которой возник ныне существующий Институт физиологии им.
И.П.Павлова (1925 г.). Столетний юбилей А.С.Пушкина дал импульс к созданию Пушкинского дома – Института русской литературы (1905 г.).
 
В 1915 г. Академия наук организовала комиссию по изучению естественных производительных сил России (КЕПС). Предложение об ее создании выдвинули академики В.И.Вернадский и А.С.Фаминцын. 11 октября 1915 года ее председателем был избран В. И. Вернадский, товарищами председателя — академики Б.Б.Голицын и Н.С.Курнаков. КЕПС развернула широкие исследования природных богатств страны. КЕПС принадлежала большая роль в создании новых научных учреждений. Реализация планов КЕПС пришлась уже на революционное время. В 1918 году были созданы Оптический, Рентгенологический и Радиологический, в 1919 году — Вычислительный, в 1920 г. — Астрономо-геодезический, в 1921 г. — Математический (с 1926 г. им. В.А.Стеклова) институты. Из них выросли современные Физико-технический институт им. А.Ф.Иоффе РАН, тесно связанный с Академией наук на протяжении всей своей истории Государственный Оптический институт им
С.И.Вавилова, Институт теоретической астрономии РАН (в 1998 г. вошел в состав Института прикладной астрономии РАН).
 
После переезда в 1934 г. Академии наук в Москву Ленинград продолжал развиваться как крупнейший, второй после столицы центр академической науки. К концу 1940-го — началу 1941 г. общая численность ленинградских академических учреждений достигла 33, среди них 12 институтов, три отделения институтов, одна обсерватория, три самостоятельных лаборатории, три комиссии, один комитет, два музея, одно общество и два отделения обществ. В Ленинграде находились Архив и Библиотека АН СССР. В систему академических учреждений города входили такие институты, как Астрономический, Физико-технический, Радиевый, Химической физики, Ботанический им. В.Л.Комарова, Физиологический им. И.П.Павлова, Зоологический, Истории материальной культуры им. Н.Я.Марра, Этнографии, Русской литературы, Языка и мышления им. Н.Я.Марра, Пулковская обсерватория. Академическую науку в Ленинграде представляли также Отделение Математического института им. В.А.Стеклова и Отделение Института истории. К началу 1941 г. в городе на Неве трудились 39 академиков и 60 членов-корреспондентов АН СССР. В июне 1940 г. вице-президент АН СССР академик О.Ю.Шмидт отмечал, что в Ленинграде "постоянно живут и работают более трети общего количества академиков и членов-корреспондентов АН СССР".
 
В послевоенные годы академическая наука в Ленинграде развивалась не так интенсивно, как в Москве и Сибири, и доля Ленинграда в АН СССР (и по числу членов Академии, и по численности научных кадров) постепенно стабилизировалась на 10 процентах.
 
В первое послевоенное пятилетие возникли Институт химии силикатов им. И. В. Гребенщикова и Институт высокомолекулярных соединений. В годы "оттепели" были частично ликвидированы результаты послевоенного разгрома отечественной биологии. В сентябре 1954 г. Президиум АН постановил преобразовать группу, работавшую под руководством академика Л. А. Орбели, в Лабораторию эволюционной физиологии. В марте 1956 г. Лаборатория была преобразована в Институт эволюционной физиологии и биохимии им. И. М. Сеченова. В 1957 г. был организован Институт цитологии во главе с Д.Н.Насоновым.
 
Только в конце 60-х — начале 70-х г.г. в структуре ленинградской академической науки отразилась близость города к водным бассейнам: в 1967 г. образован Филиал Института океанологии
им. П.П.Ширшова, в 1971 г. — Лаборатория озероведения, основанная в 1944, преобразована в Институт озероведения.
 
В 70-е г.г. продолжался начатый еще в конце 20-х годов процесс отпочкования новых институтов от Физтеха. В 1971 г. возник Ленинградский (ныне Петербургский) Институт ядерной физики в Гатчине, в 1978 г. — Институт информатики и автоматизации.
 
Трехвековую традицию, восходящую к Петру I, имеет в Петербурге научное приборостроение: в 1718 г. император зачислил в штат Аптекарской канцелярии парижского инструментального мастера
Э.С.Луботье. В послевоенные годы член-корреспондент АН СССР В. А. Павленко возобновил эту традицию, создав в Ленинграде СКБ аналитического приборостроения, интенсивно развивавшееся и ставшее в 70-е годы крупнейшим центром научного приборостроения страны. В 1977 году было создано Научно-техническое объединение АН СССР, включавшее КБ аналитического приборостроения в Ленинграде и Москве, Институт аналитического приборостроения (ИАнП), заводы в Черноголовке и Минске.
 
Ряд научно-исследовательских институтов возник в последние докризисные годы: Международный математический институт им. Л.Эйлера (1988 г., ныне входит в состав Санкт-Петербургского отделения Математического института им. В.А.Стеклова), Институт прикладной астрономии (1988 г.), Ленинградский филиал Института машиноведения им. А.А.Благонравова (1985 г., в 1991 г. преобразован в Институт проблем машиноведения), Институт проблем транспорта (1990 г.), Институт мозга человека (1990 г.), Ленинградское отделение Института химической физики им. Н.Н.Семенова (1990 г.), Центр международного сотрудничества по проблемам окружающей среды (Центр ИНЭНКО, 1990 г.), Геодинамическая лаборатория Института физики земли им. О. Ю. Шмидта (1991 г., с 1998 г. в составе Главной астрономической обсерватории), Научно-исследовательский центр экологической безопасности (НИЦЭБ, 1991 г.). В 1989-1990 гг. из созданного в 1975 г. Института социально-экономических проблем выделились Ленинградский филиал Института социологии (с 2001 г. — Социологический институт) и Санкт-Петербургский экономико-математический институт. Институт проблем региональной экономики стал преемником ИСЭП.
 
В 1992 г. на базе ВНИИ Электромаша были созданы Институт проблем электрофизики и Отдел электроэнергетических проблем (с января 2005 г. объединены в Институт электрофизики и электроэнергетики). В 1994 г. в число научных учреждений СПбНЦ была включена Комплексная лаборатория гидрогеологии и природосберегающих горных технологий (с 1996 г. — Санкт-Петербургское отделение Института геоэкологии РАН).
 
Последним по времени основания является Санкт-Петербургский филиал Института катализа Сибирского отделения РАН (Новосибирск), организованный членом-корреспондентом РАН
С.С.Иванчевым в 1998 г.
 
В настоящее время в состав Санкт-Петербургского научного центра РАН входит около 60 учреждений, организаций и предприятий РАН, расположенных в Санкт-Петербурге и Ленинградской области. Из 44 научных коллективов, входящих в СПбНЦ, 33 являются самостоятельными научно-исследовательскими институтами и организациями, 11 — филиалами, отделениями и отделами иногородних (в основном московских) институтов. Среди научных учреждений СПбНЦ —крупнейший академический институт России — Физико-технический институт им. А. Ф. Иоффе, в котором трудится более 2 тыс. сотрудников. Крупнейшее учреждение гуманитарного профиля — Библиотека РАН (БАН) насчитывает 620 сотрудников,  крупнейший биологический институт — Институт физиологии им. И.П.Павлова — 520. Среднюю часть спектра образуют институты с численностью от ста до шестисот сотрудников. Есть миниатюрные организации с численностью до 10 человек. В Петербурге работают 38 академиков и 83 члена-корреспондента РАН; из общего числа научных сотрудников академических учреждений (4582 человека) 1056 человек имеют научную степень доктора наук и 2240 — кандидата наук.
 
В Санкт-Петербургском научном центре действуют институты всех специализированных отделений РАН, а также входящие только в СПбНЦ — Санкт-Петербургский Академический университет – Научно-образовательный центр нанотехнологий (СПб АУ НОЦНТ), НИЦЭБ и ИНЭНКО.
 
За прошедшее со дня основания Академии время радикально изменился облик цивилизации, представления человечества о мире, в котором оно живет. Весомый вклад в научную картину мира внесли выдающиеся ученые, работавшие в Петербурге-Петрограде-Ленинграде. "Петербургские фрагменты" научной картины мира вошли в учебники и энциклопедии. Это периодическая система элементов Менделеева, учение об условных рефлексах Сеченова и Павлова, фагоцитарный иммунитет Мечникова, расширяющаяся Вселенная Фридмана, радио Попова, бесчисленные формулы и уравнения Эйлера, цепные реакции Семенова, закон гомологических рядов Вавилова, асимптотический закон распределения больших чисел Чебышева, линейное программирование Канторовича, атмосфера Венеры Ломоносова, суппорт Нартова, экситон Френкеля и Гросса, телепередатчик Зворыкина, электродвигатель и гальванопластика Якоби, полупроводниковые свойства соединений А3В5 Горюновой и Регеля, поворотно-изомерная модель полимерных цепей Волькенштейна. Это множество открытых явлений и эффектов, небесных тел и химических реакций, новых веществ, технологий и целых отраслей промышленности, расшифрованных письменностей и введенных в научный оборот документов, написанных и прочитанных книг.
 
Трехсотлетняя история фундаментальной науки в Петербурге накладывает отпечаток на современную исследовательскую деятельность, создает особый, питерский дух научного сообщества. Так, особенностью петербургских гуманитарных научных школ, сложившихся вокруг уникальных музейных коллекций, является приоритет работы над документом, первоисточником и меньшая роль историософских, идеологически нагруженных концепций. Для петербургских научных школ физико-математического цикла (математика, астрономия, физика, механика) характерна многопрофильность, широта охвата предмета. Большинство петербургских научных школ ориентируются на чрезвычайно высокие профессиональные и этические стандарты, заданные их основателями. Для многих петербургских ученых, несмотря на современное ускорение темпов и развитие научных коммуникаций, приводящих к быстрой смене методов и объектов исследования, остается существенным принадлежность к классическим научным школам, таким как петербургская математическая школа Чебышева-Ляпунова-Стеклова, "детский сад Иоффе", петербургская химическая школа, петербургская востоковедческая школа, петербургская текстологическая школа.
 
Эти научные школы, пережив тяжелые политические и социально-экономические испытания XX века, сохраняют живость и творческую активность. Только в последние десятилетия, включая кризисные девяностые годы, получены такие блестящие научные результаты, такие как решение 10-й, 21-й и 22-й проблем Гильберта, открытие квантовых групп, создание квантоворазмерных гетероструктур и, в частности, нульмерных квантовых точек (искусственных атомов) в полупроводниках, достоверное подтверждение флуктуаций реликтового фона, разработка плазменной технологии очистки токсичных веществ, запуск токамака "Глобус" и интерференционного радиотелескопа, разработка новых лекарственных средств и кровезаменителей, создание радиационно-устойчивых материалов, керамических и органосиликатных покрытий, открытие нефтяных месторождений на шельфе северного Ледовитого океана, разработка вибрационной механики, предсказание парникового эффекта, разработка модели "Ладожское озеро — Нева — Финский залив", прионная модель "коровьего бешенства", расшифровка "кохау-ронго-ронго", открытие древних цивилизаций в Центральной Азии и раскопки в Старой Ладоге, "возвращение" в историю культуры византийского гуманизма и смеховой культуры русского средневековья, издание энциклопедии "Слова о полку Игореве" и факсимильное воспроизведение рабочих тетрадей Пушкина.
 
Анри Пуанкаре высказал как-то мысль, что в науке нет решенных задач, а есть только более или менее решенные. Мысль великого математика полностью переносится и на проблемы организации и управления наукой и образованием. Решенные на одном этапе научно-организационные проблемы возникают на следующем витке исторического процесса. Особое, мрачное освещение этому явлению возвращения проблем придает наше время, которое ставит в повестку дня вопросы сохранения научных школ, социального статуса и физического выживания ученого, еще недавно принадлежавшие истории.
 
Петербургское научное сообщество серьезно озабочено проблемой сохранения петербургских научных традиций, ведущей роли Петербурга в отечественной и мировой науке. Санкт-Петербургский научный центр РАН прилагает большие усилия для решения проблемы преемственности научных поколений. Академические институты и университеты решают ее путем создания базовых кафедр. Современным воплощением петровской триады "Академия – Университет  – Гимназия" стал Санкт-Петербургский  Академический университет - научно-образовательный центр нанотехнологий. Осуществляется проект развития Академического университета. Вступивший в свой четвертый век Санкт-Петербург должен сохранить свой статус крупного центра фундаментальной науки.
 
Ж. И. Алфёров, Э. А. Тропп